World Series Of Poker Continues With More Winners Crowned

We are entering the final stages of the World Series of Poker, and this weekend was all about the Main Event competitions. Poker fans would have been engrossed by the action on the various tables, as the competition at the top of the standings caught the imagination.

Jake Schwartz remains the player at the top of the Player of the Year standings, but he is being put under pressure by a number of players now, including Daniel Negreanu and Shaun Deeb. However, find out which players won events this past weekend below.

Aleksandr Shevlyakov Leads The Way

It was a thrilling day of action in the Main Event, with the 38th day of competition taking place on Sunday. It was to be a memorable day for Aleksandr Shevlyakov, as the star player moved to the top of the standings, having won more chips than any other player at the Day 1C stage. He made his move to the top of the standings after having moved past Steve Foutty and Mustapha Kanit, who had led after the first two stages. The third stage of the Main Event campaign attracted a huge field of players, with 600 players in competition.

That field was cut down to 433 in the final stages, with the overall number of players still in contention standings at 1,392 from the field of just under 2,000 players. However, Shevlyakov is the player that leads the way overall following his performance in the event over the weekend. The Russian player currently boasts a chip count of 392,600, which is far higher than the second ranked player in the event. He also had 491 big blinds from the competition.

Dylan Nguyen was the player that finished in second, as he finished with a chip count of 252,400 and 316 in big blinds. Suk-Kyu Koh and Matt Glantz were the next two players in the top chip amounts, with both players having greater than 236,000. Other players that were sitting pretty in the top ten from the event, including Itay Bin Mergy, Travis Preng, Daniel Barry and Howard Arotsky. All players were in the top ten positions after Day 1c’s action was brought to a close on Sunday evening.

Battle For Player of the Year Heats Up

The competition for the Player of the Year also heated up over the weekend, as two past winners of the accolade raised the ante, as they began to put pressure on Jack Schwartz. Schwartz is currently at the top of the standings, having picked up 2,711.43 points, but moves were made by both Daniel Negreanu and Shaun Deeb over the past weekend. Deeb last won the event in 2018, while Negreanu has won the honour on two occasions in his esteemed career.

Kevin Gerhart remains the player in second, having picked up 2,643.28 points throughout the season. Anthony Zinno, Phil Hellmuth and Ari Engel are also right in contention for the prestigious prize as we enter a crucial stage of the World Series of Poker.