Erik Seidel Ties Record For Most Gold Bracelets

There was an historic occasion in the world of poker this past week, as the record for most all-time gold bracelets on the WSOP tour was equalled. The player to achieve that feat was Erik Seidel.

The legendary player continued to showcase his talent, as he capped a very impressive performance with a ninth WSOP gold bracelet. He came out on top to win the Super Million$ High Roller event. The victory ends a long wait for Seidel’s record breaking ninth gold bracelet.

Long Wait Between Victories

There may have been fears that Seidel was never going to tie the record of nine, as it has been a long 14 years since his last victory on the circuit. However, the wait finally came to an end this week, as he came out on top in the Super Million$ High Roller. The victory ensures that he is the first poker star to have won an online bracelet having won more than five normal bracelets previously. History was made though, as the record of nine WSOP bracelets, which was set by Johnny Moss has now been equalled by the global star.

Seidel certainly needed to use all his experience in the event, as the competition went down to a nail-biting conclusion, with the heads-up challenge against Francisco Benitez. At parts, it looked as though the event could go in either direction, but it was ultimately the Canadian that was able to get the victory that he deserved. Seidel certainly enjoyed the moment, as he walked away from the Super Million$ event with $977,842 as well as the record breaking gold bracelet that he was looking for.

Rest Of The Leaderboard

It was certainly a very competitive event this past week online in the Super Million$. Seidel was the deserved last player standing and took home the majority of the purse, but there were also considerable winnings picked up by some of the other players that finished on the final table this week. Benitez was the runner-up in the Super Million$ event, but he was still able to win $759,419 for his efforts throughout. Thomas Muehloecker, Shyngis Satubayev and Chin-Weg Chien were also rewarded for strong performances with places in the top five.

Muehloecker finished third and won $589,785, while Satubayev and Chien finished in the two places below him, with Satubayev winning returns of $458,043 and Chien claiming prize money of $355,729. Joachim Haraldstad was the next player, as the Norwegian finished in sixth place. Meanwhile, Class Segebracht, Isaac Baron and Rui Ferreira were the other players that finished in the top nine players. Ferreira was the first player to depart from the final table, as the Brazilian claimed $129,410 from the purse.